Mama Burnout: How I Take A Few Moments Out Of The Day For A Quick Refresh

I know I’m not the only mom out there that experiences burnout. During the school year, the struggle is real. Especially when my husband is away on business and being stationed so far away from family, there isn’t much help around. Here are a few ways I’ve found that help me when I’m feeling like I need a break.

Tips For A Quick Refresh:

1. The number one thing I do (and I need to remember to do more) is pray. Being mom is hard. REALLY hard. I don’t know about you, but I certainly don’t have enough strength to get through the days on my own; it’s only by the grace of God. I pray for strength and for peace. I pray scripture. Here are a few of my favorites:

But he said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore I will boast all the more gladly about my weaknesses, so that Christ’s power may rest on me. That is why, for Christ’s sake, I delight in weakness, in insults, in hardships, in persecutions, in difficulties. For when I am weak, then I am strong. 2 Corinthians 12:9-10

Do not be anxious about anything, but in every situation, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God. And the peach of God, which transcends all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus. – Philippians 4:6-7

I have told you these things, so that in me you may have peace. In this world you will have trouble. But take heart! I have overcome the world. – John 16:33

You will keep in perfect peace those whose minds are steadfast, because they trust in you. Trust in the Lord forever, for the Lord, the Lord himself, is the Rock eternal. – Isaiah 26:3-4

2. When the toddler takes her nap, mama is in “time out”. My older kids (13 and 11) know that when the 2 year old is napping, mama is on a break. I use this time to do whatever it is I feel like I need to do. Sometimes it’s eating for the first time of the day. Sometimes it’s something mindless like scrolling through Instagram or watching a TV show. Anything I can do to give my mama-mind a break for a good 60-90mins really helps.

3. When I’m really reeling and nap time is nowhere in sight, mama has a tea break. I make a chai tea latte, get the kids doing an activity anywhere from an assignment they can work on independently to reading a book or even watching a show, and I sit and sip and take a moment to myself. I don’t know what it is about a hot tea, but it can sure make a lot of things better.

4. Go for a walk. I pack the toddler up and head outside. Right now it’s about 89 thousand degrees outside and very humid, so during the middle of the day this isn’t really the best option for us right now, but the sunshine does a lot to refresh the mind and the spirit.

5. I listen to a podcast or an audiobook. There are so many great and uplifting podcasts out there for women and moms. Here are a few of my favorites:

Risen Motherhood

The Journeywomen Podcast

The Homemaking Foundations Podcast

The Busy Mom Podcast

I hope this list helps some mamas out there who are in the “trenches” of motherhood. Know that you are not alone!

What about you? What are some ways that help you recharge? Leave me a comment and let me know!

One thought on “Mama Burnout: How I Take A Few Moments Out Of The Day For A Quick Refresh

  1. I love these ideas! Thank you for taking the time to share them! I’m a busy Mama too and I love a good walk (need the exercise and the endorphins) but nothing beats a nap. My body might not be tired, but my brain needs to shut down to continue functioning!

    Like

Leave a comment